Neutrino experiments are reaching exciting new levels of precision: percent-level systematic uncertainties in oscillation experiments, the eV scale in direct mass measurements, 1025 year half-lives in double beta decay experiments, and neutrino-nucleus cross section measurements at the 5% level. With this new precision comes an important focus on the statistical understanding of data from neutrino experiments, and techniques to ensure the quality of the results produced.
The PhyStat series of workshops has been a successful institution in the world of collider physics over the past 15 years, providing a forum for discussing topics such as setting upper limits on or discovering rare processes, and combining results from different experiments. We now aim to turn this success to the field of neutrino physics.

PhyStat-ν will address statistical issues in the broad range of modern neutrino physics, including making measurements of model parameters, setting limits, discovery criteria, discrete choice of models, Bayesian vs. frequentist inference, and combining experiments. Two workshops are planned for 2016: this workshop at the Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe in Kashiwa, Japan in May, and a second workshop at Fermilab in the autumn. These workshops will consist of invited and contributed talks, and poster and discussion sessions, and will bring together experts in the analysis of neutrino data with experts in statistics to explore the statistical issues in neutrino physics. 

We are looking forward to seeing you in Kashiwa.

Local Organizing Committee Members:
Chair: Mark HARTZ (Kavli IPMU/TRIUMF) 
Christophe BRONNER (Kavli IPMU)
Richard CALLAND (Kavli IPMU)
Yoshinari HAYATO (ICRR)

Scientific Organizing Committee Members:
Chair: Yoshi UCHIDA (Imperial College London)
Daniel CHERDACK (Colorado State University)
David VAN DYK (Imperial College London)
Mark HARTZ (Kavli IPMU (WPI), The University of Tokyo)
Pilar HERNANDEZ (University of Valencia)
Thomas JUNK (Fermilab)
Asher KABOTH (Royal Holloway, University of London)
Louis LYONS (Imperial College London)
Shun SAITO (Kavli IPMU (WPI), The University of Tokyo)
Subir SARKAR (University of Oxford, Neils Bohr Institute)
Kai ZUBER (TU Dresden)

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now