Focus Week on Quantum Mechanical Systems at Large Quantum Number




Dates: August 30 -- September 3, 2021

Venue: Online event

You can find the video recordings here.


The study of quantum mechanical systems in sectors of large quantum number leads to significant simplifications and allows the calculation of physical quantities of otherwise strongly-coupled systems in terms of an expansion in the large quantum number. Large-charge predictions have been verified to high accuracy in various independent calculations.

The topic has attracted the attention of several communities interested in conformal theories, bootstrap, superconformal theories, particle phenomenology and lattice simulations. This workshop aims to bring together people with diverse backgrounds interested in this topic.

We plan two talks by senior speakers in the mornings and contributed talks by junior participants in the afternoons, as well as time for discussion.

Invited participants and speakers:

Luis Alvarez-Gaume (Simons Center)
Philip Argyres (Cincinnati)
Shailesh Chandrasekharan (Duke)
Gabriel Cuomo (Simons SCGP/YITP Stony Brook)
Shota Komatsu (CERN)
Madalena Lemos (Durham)
Márk Mezei (Simons Center)
Eran Palti (Ben Gurion University)
Anastasios Petkou (Thessaloniki)
Diego Rodriguez-Gomez (Oviedo)
Jorge Russo (Barcelona)
Francesco Sannino (CP3 Origins)
Haruki Watanabe (Tokyo)

Organizing Committee:

Simeon Hellerman (Kavli IPMU)
Domenico Orlando (INFN Torino)
Susanne Reffert (Bern)


Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU),
the University of Tokyo, 5-1-5 Kashiwa-no-ha, Kashiwa City, Chiba 277-8583, Japan



  • Adar Sharon
  • Ali Zahabi
  • Anastasios Petkou
  • Andrew O'Bannon
  • Diego Rodriguez-Gomez
  • Domenico Orlando
  • Eran Palti
  • Francesco Sannino
  • Gabriel Cuomo
  • Gil Badel
  • Haruki Watanabe
  • Ioannis Kalogerakis
  • Jahmall Bersini
  • Jesus Cruz Rojas
  • Jorge Russo
  • Justin Kaidi
  • Kanak Sharma
  • Luis Alvarez-Gaumé
  • Madalena Lemos
  • Mark Mezei
  • Masataka Watanabe
  • Matteo Lotito
  • Matías Torres
  • Mitch Weaver
  • Nicola Andrea Dondi
  • Ofer Aharony
  • Ohad Mamroud
  • Omar Celikbas
  • Philip Argyres
  • Rafael Moser
  • Shailesh Chandrasekharan
  • Shota Komatsu
  • Simeon Hellerman
  • Somdatta Bhattacharya
  • Sridip Pal
  • Susanne Reffert
  • Thiago Araujo
  • Thomas Chen
  • Tim Jones
  • Tim Schmidt
  • Umang Mehta
  • Vito Pellizzani
  • zafar zaman
  • 毅 庞