Due to the coronavirus worldwide spread, the conference was postponed to be held in 2021.


Dates: Monday, 13 July - Thursday, 16 July, 2020

  OIST, Okinawa
  URL: https://www.oist.jp/


The ISCO series of workshops aims take interdisciplinary collaboration to a new level and create an unprecedented approach to solving key scientific problems in a broad range of fields from elementary particles and cosmology to life sciences and medicine.  The inaugural workshop will be attended by scientists working in quantum physics, particle physics and cosmology, space observations, protein and genetic engineering, as well as leading experts in cancer and brain research. Data science researchers and experts in radiation detectors and photodetectors will also participate in this workshop. The objective is to bring together a broad spectrum of experts and encourage cross pollination of ideas. 

In order to focus on exchanging ideas, this Workshop will consist of oral presentations in a colloquium style (~40 min. each, including discussions)  by  invited speakers. We plan  to have  additional  poster presentations by general participants.

Confirmed Speakers:

  1. Toshiyuki Azuma (RIKEN) Atomic physics
  2. Thomas Busch (OIST) Quantum systems
  3. Neil Davies (UCB, Richard B. Gump South Pacific Research Station)
  4. Shiro Ikeda (Institute of Statistical Mathematics)Data science 
  5. Aya Ishihara (Chiba), High Energy Neutrino Astrophysics
  6. Barbara Jacak (UCB) High Energy Nuclear Physics 
  7. Girkin John (Durham)  Advanced Instrumentation
  8. Bernd Kuhn (OIST) Optical Neuroimaging Unit
  9. Keiko Kono (OIST) Membranology
  10. Motoko Kotani (RIKEN/Tohoku U.)  Mathematics in material science 
  11. Tom Melia (Kavli IPMU)  Particle theory 
  12. Hitoshi Murayama(Kavli IPMU/UCB)  Particle theory
  13. Shigehiro Nagataki (RIKEN iTHEMS),  Astrophysics   
  14. Hidenori Nishimori (TiTech/RIKEN) Quantum information science
  15. Mihoko Nojiri (KEK/IPMU), Particle phenomenology  
  16. Milind Purohit (OIST), Experimental particle physics
  17. David C. Reutens (Univ. Queensland) Brain science 
  18. Nami Sakai (RIKEN) Star and planet formation
  19. Misao Sasaki (Kavli IPMU), Cosmology 
  20. Hideyuki Saya (Keio) Cancer research 
  21. Nic Shannon (OIST)  Theory of quantum matter
  22. Masahiro Teshima (MPP/U. Tokyo): Cosmic Ray Physics 
  23. Yasunobu Uchiyama (Rikkyo) High energy astrophysics
  24. Yasuyoshi Watanabe (RIKEN Center for Biosystems Dynamics Research)
  25. Matthias Wolf (OIST) Molecular cryo-electron microscopy


Mary Collins (OIST)
Tetsuo Hatsuda (RIKEN, Co-Chair)
Motoko Kotani (RIKEN)
Alex Kusenko (UCLA/Kavli IPMU)
Shigehiro Nagataki (RIKEN)
Misao Sasaki (IPMU)
Tadayuki Takahashi (Kavli IPMU, Co-Chair)
Tadashi Yamamoto (OIST, Co-Chair)

(in alphabetical order)


- Kavli Institute for the Physics and Mathematics of the Universe (Kavli IPMU), The University of Tokyo
- Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST)
- RIKEN Interdisciplinary Theoretical and Mathematical Sciences Program (iTHEMS)
- Grand-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Areas —Toward new frontiers: Encounter and synergy of state-of-the-art astronomical detectors and exotic quantum beams—

(in alphabetical order)


Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University
1919-1 Tancha, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun
Okinawa, Japan 904-0495




Kavli IPMU, Kashiwa, Japan
Lecture Hall
Kashiwa, Japan
Registration for this event is currently open.